SunLive – Volcanix to Open Tauranga Domain Double Header

The Volcanix are set and ready to go this weekend for their first of two double-headers from Tauranga Estate as the Manukau Counties Heat come to town for a Farah Palmer Cup Round 5 game.

“Everyone has been training well this week,” said head coach Brent Kaua.

“We worked on the areas we needed to work on, and they’re excited to get into their mahi. What’s even better is that they can perform in front of friends and whānau.”

The Volcanix narrowly lost last week’s match to defending champions Waikato. Despite the loss, they took away key learnings.

“We played well for some periods of the game, especially in the first 25 minutes. Our free kick was good. We just have to be more clinical with the ball in hand and maintain our rhythm,” Kaua explained.

Assistant coach Crystal Kaua adds: “We were penalized 21 times against Waikato. Our discipline is non-negotiable this weekend.”

“We are at our best when our free kick is dominant, we are decisive and play what is in front, and our defense is aggressive and forward.”

“Every week our team is growing and we’re excited to have them put it all together.”

There are several changes to the squad that will face the Counties this weekend, including a variety of players starting in different positions. Four new players enter the starting lineup, including Te Urupounamu McGarvey, Tynealle Fitzgerald, Miracle Monga and Payton Takimoana.

Captain Luka Connor is on restricted minutes ahead of the Black Ferns’ Laurie O’reilly Cup, so she will have an impact on the bench.

The Heat are one in four this season and will need a win if they want to keep their season alive. The Volcanixes, meanwhile, are two out of three and are currently in 4th place overall.

The Double Header action kicks off on Sunday August 14 with doors opening at 11am at the Tauranga Estate with the Volcanix kicking off at 11.35am and will be shown live on Sky Sport 1.

Team Volcanix Round 5 vs. Counties Manukau Heat

1. Te Urupounamu McGarvey
2. Natalie Delamere
3. Santo Taumata
4. Kelsie Wills (VC)
5. Tynealle Fitzgerald
6. Elders
7. Kendra Reynolds
8. Pia Tapesell
9. Sheniqua Taula
10. Kalyn Takitimu-Cook
11. Olivia Richardson
12. Miracle Monga
13. Renee Wickliffe
14. Grace Parata-Stewart
15. Payton Takimoana

16. Luka Connor (C)
17. Kate Henwood
18. Animei Skudder
19. Jessie Wharekura
20. JayJay Taylor
21. Emma Flynn
22. Kiki Tahere
23. Sapphire Williams

Unavailable due to injury:

Olive Waterston
Kiri Ngawati
Azalleyah Maaka
Tayla Manu Pym

Match Details

Bay of Plenty Double Header
Sunday August 14,
Tauranga Estate, Tauranga
Doors open at 11 a.m.
Volcanix vs. Manukau Counties, 11:35 a.m.
Foggernauts vs. Taranaki, 2:05 p.m.
Live games on Sky Sport 1